Home » Articles & News » Chakras


Yogasista by Preston Vismale

Chakras exists within the Reiki system of energy healing I use. I found a beautiful description written by Cheryl Fenner Brown and Sharon Olson: 

“The chakra system is an alternative anatomy aligned along the spine from the pelvis floor to the crown of the head. These spinning wheels are invisible energetic crossroads of the body, mind and spirit. They are a means of understanding our physical health, emotional well-being, mental clarity, and spiritual path. 

 “As we process our life’s experiences, the chakras may become imbalanced. A chakra system out of balance may set the stage for physical, emotional, mental or spiritual challenges.”

This explanation came with a guided meditation for chakra balance.* Meditation is suggested to “restore this system of vital energies allowing harmony, contentment, wisdom and love to prevail.”

Reiki, Chakras, Aura are Linked

Reiki is a form of meditation on steroids, because it certainly restores vital energies to the body. Founder Mikao Usui engaged the Reiki-chakra connection, which boosted his client’s healing. Almost all professional practitioners still follow this procedure.  

The “alternative anatomy” includes the aura, which is like a body halo. Its shape and color reflects the connection to All That Is. If chakras are bright and vibrant, then the aura usually appears or feels clear with good health.

The spiritual interaction between the chakras and aura is discussed in my book, Light on Reiki and Neo-African Mysticism. The book’s graphic (above) shows the general chakra areas,** but an in-depth chart in the book explains links between body organs, emotional states and more.

Benefits of Focussed Reiki

The more you do Reiki, either on yourself or with professional help, the more in tune you are with your body. You learn its language. You are able to prevent imbalances like colds, stomach upsets and even more serious challenges. I speak from my own experience. One practitioner was able to avoid knee surgery, because she focussed her healing attention on her knee.

Physical imbalance often mirrors your spiritual, mental, and emotional concerns, but consistent Reiki sessions can help. They can definitely harmonize the many aspects of your wellbeing, until you are feeling whole, complete and able to tackle anything life gives you to experience.

Read more to consider learning Reiki. Also read this post on Reiki and the chakras and this post that details crystals to use with two chakras.

–Rev. Niamo Nancy Muid

*This guided meditation is available on insighttimer.com. This application can be downloaded for free. 

**Sanskrit names for the seven main chakras are:

  1. root chakra – muladhara (base of spine)
  2. sacral chakra – swadhisthana (lower abdomen)
  3. solar chakra – manipura (naval)
  4. heart chakra – anahata (heart)
  5. throat chakra – vishuddha (throat)
  6. third eye chakra – ajna (brow)
  7. crown chakra – sahasrara (top of head)

The HealMobile offers educational and inspirational services and information. We want the best care for you, but cannot diagnose, cure or treat any disease, mental illness, or chronic medical condition. 

So, for long-standing physical or emotional problems, see your medical doctor or licensed health professional. Share your interest in the holistic approach with him or her. Ask for help in creating a plan for the complete healing of the symptoms and causes that concern you.